Terms & Conditions

The Purpose of the Good Practice Toolkit for Selection

The proposed toolkit is designed to provide a range of methodologies, materials and practical guidance in support of the surgical selection process. The materials are in development, becoming available in draft format while work is in progress and being updated or modified from time to time. The project team expects to have finalised most of the content by June 2010.


Please note that the Toolkit is, as of December 2009, in its early stages and is continually being improved. Some features as a result may be temporarily inaccessible or incomplete. Additions can, of course, be made and we are continually seeking more examples of good practice from surgical specialties. Such contributions to the project are very important for its development.

We would be very grateful for any such contributions or constructive feedback on the Toolkit and the site. Please email these to us.

Use of the Good Practice Toolkit

The Good Practice Toolkit is aimed at anyone with an interest in, or responsibility for, selection into surgery.

Users may:

  • print or download materials from the toolkit for non-commercial use;
  • copy the content to other individuals for use in the selection process or for training purposes;
  • tailor Word templates according to local arrangements.

Please acknowledge the JCST Good Practice Toolkit as the source of the material.

Please note that the example scenarios contain names and situations that are fictitious and similarity to any person is purely co-incidental.

Intellectual Property Rights

The Good Practice Toolkit materials belong to the JCST including but not limited to, the design, layout, look, appearance, graphics and documents on the website, as well as other content such as articles, scenarios and other text.

JCST Project Team

Professor David Rowley (Clinical Lead)

Work Psychology Group:

Professor Fiona Patterson

Victoria Carr

Louise Faulkes

Dr Maura Kerrin

The Royal College of Surgeons of England:

Dr Adrian Woodthorpe (Head of Examinations and Assessment)

Mrs Maria Bussey (Project Manager)

Mr Ben Jones (Project Co-ordinator)

The steering group for the project is the JCST Selection Sub-Committee, its members are listed below.

Mr Chris Munsch (Chair)

Professor Sarah Thomas (Dean)

Mr Chris Morran (Glasgow)

Dr Roger Kneebone (Academic)

Professor David Rowley (Edinburgh)

Dr Raj Aggarwal (Trainee)

SAC Chairs:

Mr Tim Graham (Cardiothoracic Surgery)

Mr Peter Lamont (General Surgery)

Mr Michael Powell (Neurosurgery)

Mr Bob Woodwards (Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery)

Mr Adrian Drake-Lee (Otolaryngology)

Mr Graham Haddock (Paediatric Surgery)

Miss Vivien Lees (Plastic Surgery)

Professor W Angus Wallace (Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery)

Mr Ian Eardley (Urology)

A faculty group of stakeholders are also assisting with the project and we would like to thank all of them for their contribution to the development of the Good Practice Toolkit.